South Simcoe Physio

Follow madhuntdotcom on Twitter

The Evolution of  

Return to front page for more news

Simcoe County council sends back governance proposal for more info

Posted March 10, 2020

A recommendation to reduce the size of Simcoe County council from 32 to 21 by retaining the 16 mayors plus the direct election of five sub-regional ward councillors, was referred back to the governance committee for further exploration, this morning.

The recommendation flowing out of the Feb. 13 governance committee meeting was one of four options including the status quo. It would have the Warden and Deputy Warden positions elected by council, from among the five sub-regional members.

In the scenario presented to councillors this morning, the five wards would be:
  • New Tecumseth, Adjala-Tosorontio and Essa;
  • Bradford West Gwillimbury and Innisfil;
  • Clearview, Wasaga Beach and Collingwood;
  • Springwater, Tay, Tiny, Midland and Penetanguishene; and
  • Oro-Medonte, Severn, and Ramara.
New Tecumseth, Innisfil, and Bradford West Gwillimbury, the three largest contributors of assessement to the upper tier, Essa and Adjala Tosorontio are not keen on losing their individual council seats.

The next governance committee meeting is not listed as a scheduled meeting on the County calendar.

Regardless of what County councillors eventually decide, any changes to the composition requires a triple majority approval:
- A majority of all votes on the upper tier council are cast in favour of the new by-law;
- A majority of the councils of all lower tier municipalities forming part of the upper tier
municipality have passed resolutions consenting to the by-law; and
- The total number of electors in the lower tier municipalities that have passed resolutions
form a majority of all the electors in the upper tier municipality.

All stories, unless otherwise noted,
by Tony Veltri