South Simcoe Physio

Follow madhuntdotcom on Twitter

The Evolution of  

Return to front page for more news

Simcoe-Grey Conservatives far ahead in 2018 fundraising

Posted July 30, 2019

The annual financial returns of federal political riding associations now posted on the Elections Canada website, show Simcoe-Grey Conservatives received $51,017 from 60 donors in 2018, including 18 contributing the maximum $1,575. There were 10 others who donated $1,500 each.

The local Conservative riding association recorded a a surplus of $79,936 at year's end.

The following individuals each contributed the maximum amount of $1,575: Assunta Biffis, Dino Biffis, Luigi Biffis, Pamela Biffis, Peter Biffis, Sylvia Biffis, Rayman Bongiorno, Anna Lombardi, Rocco Lombardi, Robert Maguire, and Sharon Pratt, all from Alliston; Marvin Chantler, Loretto; Dennis Kozina, Joann Kozina, and Randy Marshall, all from Angus; Allan Maguire, and Sharon Maguire, from Utopia; and Jason Roach from Barrie.

The following each contributed $1,500: David Archer, Midland; Mauro DeFranco, Maple; Yan Lan, Barrie; Frank Mazza, Richmond Hill; Jeff McCuaig, Thornton; Tony Parisi, Barrie; John Pozzobon, Mississauga; Greg Sabastiano, Stayner; Jacqueline Silk, Coldwater; and Margaret Thibideau, Wasaga Beach.

Simcoe-Grey Liberals collected $11,873 in donations including from 10 who made monthly contributions ranging from $5 to $50. There were no donations over $1,000.

The Liberal riding association showed a surplus of $42,200 at year end.

Simcoe-Grey NDP reported no contributions, ending the year with $3,227. Neither did the Green Party in Simcoe-Grey, ending the year with $1,974.

And the Christian Heritage Party received $393 from 10 donors, ending with $2,833 at Dec. 31, 2018.

To date, only four candidates have been nominated in Simcoe-Grey for the 2019 federal elections in October: Terry Dowdall, CPC; Lorne Kenney, Liberal; Sherri Jackson, Green Party; and Jeff Harris, PPC.

All stories, unless otherwise noted,
by Tony Veltri